Chosen Solution

I am trying to turn on the keyboard backlight with fn+f4, or at least trying to get the popup that says brightness down with fn+f3. All of the keys work, just not when used together. I have tried updating to the latest ATK package, uninstalled and reinstalled the keyboard drivers, and I’ve pretty much exhausted my technical knowledge. Edit: This is after a hard drive replacement with an SSD.

To see if it’s a physical problem within the keyboard, you may run some tests using the Windows Onscreen Keyboard which you find in the All Programmes menu under Windows Ease of Access. Otherwise go back inside and check the tiny ribbon cable hasn’t become loosened at both on the motherboard and the keyboard ends.

Hi Gabriel I had exactly the same problem as you after upgrading my ASUS laptop C drive to an SSD. My backlighting was gone and the hotkeys did nothing. To fix it on mine I went to C/ProgramFiles (x86)/ASUS/ATK package/ATK hotkey and then clicked on “HControl” and ran program. Next thing you know everything worked as expected again. Sure hope this works for you cheers Andy

Ways to Fix Your Backlit Keyboard When It’s Not Working on Check if Your Keyboard Comes With the Backlit Feature. Increase the Brightness Level. Update Your Keyboard Drivers. Run the Keyboard Troubleshooter. Perform a Clean Boot. Regards, Will