Chosen Solution

About two days ago I was kind of curious and trying to check how the battery on my Droid 4 was working and I lifted the left edge a little (but did NOT remove the whole battery), while it was still on (I know, pretty stupid of me) and now it isn’t turning on. I’ve tried to charge it multiple times with different chargers and wall outlets but all that occurs when I do so, is momentarily flash the green LED light (the whole phone remains blank) and then it goes off (the green LED light). Do you think I might have damaged the battery or the ribbons? And also, would it be easy to replace the battery on my own if I were to use the Droid 4 teardown guide and the tools needed? I’d like to replace it on my own because I wouldn’t want to send it off or wait a week or so to get my phone back and spend more money having it done. Please help :(

Hi Karu, Basically you should not use a teardown as a guide. It is written on the very first line! Ok here it looks to be very easy, the only tools you really need is a T5 Torx Screwdriver screw driver (It is very tiny and it’s not something that everybody have in is tool box) and eventually a Spudger. Anyway, before to think changing your battery, you should find out what goes wrong. Otherwise you may spend money and time in a new battery and tools but the problem can be anywhere else. A few questions: Pealing the striker over the battery, is it the only thing you’ve done?What tool did you use for that: plastic or metallic? I’m not very sure but if you used a metallic tool and if the screws are part of the battery contacts, you may have short circuited the battery.Something very important to trouble shoot: does your device suddenly shutdown when trying to look at below this sticker or slowly lost battery power, shutdown because out of power and never recharge? If you have a multimeter you can try to test the battery voltage. As per the teardown, the battery is marked to deliver 3.8v but this is strange because LiPo cell usualy deliver 3.7v. Anyway, testing it for voltage, if the battery is in good condition and charged, you should have around 3.7 / 3.8v out. It maybe more complicated if the battery is not charged. You can try between both screw but if you have nothing here it does not mean it is dead. Otherwyse you’re gona have to remove the screws and test directly at the contacts.

I have a droid 4 my daughter was playing a game on it and the phone shuts off and wont turn back on i have it charging to the computer and all im getting is a green led light on the phone nothing else the led light stays on and dosnt shut off help what happen to my phone

My problem. My Droid 4 went dead after I ran down the battery (approximately 2 years old). I plugged it into my car charger but I got a black screen and a green light at the top left corner. I could not even power down so I tried to remove the battery but the connector broke as I removed the decal over the battery. My solution was to buy a new OEM battery and install it. After I installed the battery I connected it to my home charger. I tried to power up and got the Motorola screen and then all I got was a battery charging screen that went from zero to 5%. The screen went dark and after a few minutes I checked again and it showed 100%. I powered on again without a charger connected and got nothing. I reconnected it to my charger and even tried a soft reboot by holding down the top power on button and the down volume key at the same time for 5 seconds and nothing changed. Next, I removed the battery again and removed my SIM card from the back. I reinstalled the battery and tried to charge it. The charging screen had a question mark now and was not showing a % of charge. I left it for about 10 minutes and returned to see the same screen. Next I added my SIM card back and powered it back on WITH my phone connected to the home charger. I tried to power back on normally but I got the Motorola screen only again. I did a soft reboot again by holding down the top power on button and the down volume key at the same time for 5 seconds. This time it booted up like normal and when through the whole start up process. I had to leave the phone on the charger until I got a full charge but it was working again. What a relief to be able to remove all my pictures and data from my phone. The Moto Migrate worked perfect to move my pics an data to my NEW Droid Turbo.