Chosen Solution

My MBP display freezes and develops lines on moving the lid. I apply pressure on the top of the screen with lid open, then it becomes unfrozen & I am able to use it with no issues. If the lid position changes, it again freezez. I gave it to apple service. They said the entire display needs to be replaced and it costs half the price of the macbook. What could be the issue?

Is it the 15" model? There are known issues on these machines but I need to know your exact model.

I assume this is the non-Retina model? It will either be the LCD cable, or the bottom ribbon board of the LCD (attached to the LCD). Remove the lid from the Macbook, remove the glass, LCD and LCD cable. Plug the LCD and LCD cable into the Macbook (not fixed into the lid) and move the LCD cable, then push the bottom board of the LCD to determine which would need to be replaced. If it freezes and fades, it is more than likely the LCD. You can find guides on how to do this on the website.