Chosen Solution

My car won’t start but if I disconnect the alternator my car will start for a while and shut off I checke my alternator and they told me it was good have no clue as in what it could be

Hi.. do u hear any noises when you start your car? Does it start right away? Does it seem like you loose power before it dies? I need more information to help you.. When’s the last time you changed your sparkplugs? Try that first they are very cheap and should tell you in the owners manual which ones you need. Also Why are you disconnecting the alternator if Your mechanic says that it is good? How long have you had this problem? Your battery might not be taking a charge.. and therefore running on any charge it has left. It is probably your spark plugs or carburetor. U see your battery is only used for the electric parts and your car would not start at all if it were battery or alternator related.. Your carburetor actually brings a mixture of air and fuel to your engine.. So if it is starting but then stalling later.. you are not getting one of those things to your engine consistently. U can check your fuel filter, fuel pump, or carburetor.. I would get some fuel injector cleaner and add it to my gas tank since you are getting it started and running for a bit.. or sea foam is amazing.. they’re is also carburetor cleaner.. u can spray some in one of the hoses (never open the top of the carburetor) and that might get it running.. However replacing the carbuerater is probaly your best bet.. Look up your make and model and see which one you need.. U will be suprised how much cheaper they are online then how much a mechanic charges.. Plus if you are changing your alternator.. then you sound capable of changing your carburetor yourself.. and you have good old YouTube to guide you! Hope this helps (ps I was having the same Exact problem with my 150cc scooter and although it’s smaller than a car.. it’s pretty much the same concept and I ordered the carb and changed it myself and Boom driving again