Chosen Solution

I’m migrating away from my Late 2013 Retina MBP to my brand new Mid 2017 Touchbar MBP I have the old SSD drive in an external USB enclosure. The drive has two partitions – a large Mac one and a smaller Windows one As opposed to doing the whole migration-assistant stuff, I’d like to simply clone the drive over to my new machine – copying everything, both partitions, from the old to the new I’m wondering two things: First, what’s the simplest way to go about that? If I were to startup the new mac in recovery mode, attach the external SSD, and do a restore from it… would that achieve what I’m looking for? Is there a pathway to that? Second, should I expect any problems to arise from the old system residing in the new machine? For instance, the old system didn’t have a touchbar; would the OS (I think it’s running Sierra) get confused by the new hardware? Thanks in advance!

Cloning usually erases the whole target drive thus loosing your repair partion and Windows partion. I’d stay with Migration Assistant.