Chosen Solution

When I make calls or try to change my voicemail greeting, the microphone on my LG Tribute 2 does not pick up any voice input unless I’m using the speakerphone. I haven’t had any problems using voice input for Google searches or Google Maps and since I can still use the speaker mode, I don’t think it’s a problem with the outside of the microphone needing to be cleaned (there’s no dust or lint). Any ideas? I’ve only had the phone for a month and haven’t dropped/damaged it . . . yet.

The mic down by your charge port is dead. There are two, unless I’m confusing myself again. The one that operates while using the speakerphone mode is up top near the earpiece. Unfortunately, I think everything is on one board in these phones, so this is not a part that can just be swapped out. I would go back to your service provider and explain what’s going on. That there is no physical damage makes it probable that this is a manufacturer’s defect.

I faced same problem.. I did clean mic.. I did reset factory setting and erased all data no use.. Beside blocking some applications may effect.. Finally I installed an app from store called (microphone guard) and its work 100%.. Just give a try https://play.google.com/store/apps/detai

Could be a firmware or software issue. The problem with mine is that the voice output is very muffled and there is nothing blocking both mics so hopefully they can update this to add a fix or improvement.