Chosen Solution

Hi experts, I just replaced an old battery that stated service battery and after changing a new one, the macbook will automatically shut down (not sleep) when discharged to 7%. I had asked for a new replacement of battery because it maybe defect, after changing a new one, the problem still the same, shut down when discharged to exactly 7%. So I’m wondering whether it is my macbook pro issue or should i update something after a new battery replacement. (The seller don’t know too, sorry not buying from ifixit) After i check on the system information, I realised there are difference of battery information between the battery I swapped from the macbook. My question is that is there any way to update my battery information like the battery firmware or others which maybe the cause of the issue? OR is there any way to solve this problem? I had tried reset SMC and PRAM/NVRAM, also tried recalibrate the battery too. Thanks. Need Help.

The readings may simply be off. With iPhone, the battery % is very inaccurate. I’d assume same with the MacBook’s OS. Leaving my iPhone on overnight on standby will report it dropped from 100% to 96% when in fact it dropped to 91% when I test it. Honestly, if I was you, to sustain the longevity of your battery, I wouldn’t be letting the Lithium Battery drop below 20% in the first place.. ;x