Chosen Solution

I am trying to change/upgrade the RAM of a MacBook 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo from the original 2GB (2x1GB) to 4GB (2x2GB). The new RAM I bought are Corsair 2GB DDR2 800Mhz . Now, the Mac with the new 4GB of RAM doesn’t boot up (nothing, apart the light display on the corner down on the right). If I keep 1x1GB (original) and 1x2GB (new) it boots up (since I tried all the combinations, all the RAM works fine). Any Idea? Thank you

Try another brand. I’ve had Mac compatibility issues with Corsair personally. I switched to Kingston and Crucial, and haven’t had any issues. Also the speed absolutely has to match. Any faster it likely won’t boot.

if is that the right model, you need pair of 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM (PC2-5300) of course both 800 Mhz didn’t work, nice try:)) good luck

The RAM you are trying to use is incompatible with your model . You are trying to use 800 MHz RAM when that model only supports 667 MHz (PC2-5300). The reason why it works when you use the new ram in combo with old RAM, is that the old RAM is compatible. I am willing to bet if you looked in system specs, the Motherboard would only see your old RAM.