Chosen Solution

This 2017 MacBook Retina 12 inch is dead. Different chargers and cables don’t make a difference. Resetting SMC with the left ctrl + left option + left shift + power for 10 seconds doesn’t work. Holding down the power button for 10 seconds doesn’t work. I even gently lifted the logic board from the internal battery connector, held it in place with plastic spludgers, plugged the MacBook into a charging brick, and tried the key combinations above. What else can I do before testing the logic board…which I haven’t found any guides to do at the moment. Can I test the USB-C port with a multimeter to check for connectivity? Any advice that helps me diagnose this would be great! Edit: I’ve attached a photo of the board.

@fixwiki try this first and see what you can determine Minimum Configuration Putting the computer in a minimum configuration helps determine which part may be malfunctioning by reintroducing parts one at a time until the problem recurs. This procedure is useful when troubleshooting symptoms such as: No power Will not start up Kernel panic To troubleshoot the MacBook using the minimum configuration, remove or disconnect all parts except: Logic board I/O board and flex cable assembly Audio board Audio board flex cable Speaker/antenna module (Early 2015 and 2016 only) Power 5W power adapter (Do not use a higher wattage for minimum configuration.) USB-C cable Reinstall or reconnect remaining parts one at time until the issue is replicated. I’d be checking the I/O board first since that would be the entry point for power.

The LIO is what I was referring to

Update 04/17/2022 this is F3500 and it’s a fuse on the PPVBUS_LIO. See if you have power and /or continuity on it. If you do not then you know the issue originates on your LIO board. You do need a closer, clearer picture of your logic board to identify things . Also, consider checking the connector from the LIO on your logic board.

I have been very successful on this problem by just attaching a new battery. If it works, then I install the battery. most of the time I do not get the low battery icon on the screen before doing this.