Chosen Solution

I was hoping the GPS on iPhone would be a voice activated one. It is not. I was told I had to buy an app. Looking for one I am so confused because some are really reasonable but you have to buy the annual subscription to use it. Can you give your best advice what to get for the iPhone?

here’s a recent review/comparison of nine GPS navigation apps available for the iPhone

The GPS is simply a component, the app that uses it is GOogle maps, which is NOT turn by turn direction, however there are several expensive or subscription turn by turn directions applications for iPhone. I suggest that you return your iPhone and buy an android device, which have a version of google maps with a free turn by turn directions application built in.

Mapquest is a free app……..download it……..it is voice activated. Shame on iphone.