Chosen Solution

My Late 2011 17” MBP works just fine when it has power. However when I plug the power adaptor in, it can sometimes take up to 3 hours to recognize that the charger is plugged in. I went ahead and replaced the DC In Board and I can’t tell if it has helped the issue at all. I was using an off brand 60w power adaptor for a while but read that they can be sketchy, so now I’m back using a really old 85w genuine apple one. Does this seem like a power adaptor issue? I really didn’t want to have to spend the $79.00 for a new legit one. Below is a screencap of my machine running coconut battery for reference.

Update (11/21/2018) Hey folks - update time. After replacing the DC In Board and buying a new genuine charger - I’m sad to report that nothing has changed. The charger still takes hours, sometimes up to a day to give me a yellow light and start charging. Next up - the battery. I’ll let you guys know what happens when I switch the battery out with a replacement. This is what my CoconutBattery looks like today. ):

You definitely want to be only using genuine Apple chargers. Off-brand chargers ruin your DC in Board over time and simply aren’t dependable in general. Get a genuine new charger from Apple and report back your results. Update (11/21/2018) You’re battery is on it’s way out the window for sure, as Dan noted. Time to replace it! MacBook Pro 17" Unibody Battery Replacement [linked product missing or disabled: IF162-035-2]

Lets review your MagSafe connector connections following this Apple T/N Apple Portables: Troubleshooting MagSafe adapters. Yes you do need to use the 85 Watt MagSafe unit. Do make sure your charger is in good shape. If cleaning didn’t help lets get a better view of your battery & the charging logic. Install this gem of an App CoconutBattery post a snapshot of the main window so we can see what it tells us Adding images to an existing question