Chosen Solution

Around a year ago I upgraded my early 2015 macbook 128 SSD for a 512 GB one, and it worked fine, but a few months ago I started noticing a bit of a slow startup, annoying but a tolerable issue. As more time passed the startup became slower and slower, up to the point where the mac won’t be usable for around 30 minutes after login, and smaller mac os updates could take around 2 hours to complete. Using blackmagic disk I found up that on startup my writing and reading time were around 4 mb/s and 31mb/s. But the weird thing is that after those 30 min the writing and reading speed got to an “usable” level of around 500mb/s and 1500mb/s. If I left me macbook sleeping from one day to the other there is no issue on wake up, but if I restart or turn off the macbook the speed gets slower and the start up waiting time longer. I think the big sur update will kill my machine. Do you know what could be the issue here? Do I need to change the adapter? the bad news is that I don’t really know which adapter and SSD I have and I can’t get in touch with the person who did the SSD upgrade, however I do have the tools to open up the mac, and I have a broken 2017 macbook, maybe I could switch the disk and check whats going on? UPDATE: Here’s a photo of the SSD

How full is your drive? Also what is the drive solution you used Another Apple SSD, OWC or Transcend custom drives or using a M.2 with an adapter? You’ll need to open your system up to check it MacBook Pro 13" Retina Display Early 2015 SSD Replacement Update (11/23/2020) Well this tells us a lot! This is an M.2 SSD using an adapter which tend not to be very good solution. I often pull these drives for issues like yours from many mac systems. I have drawer full of them just to show people how bad this solution is. It works day one, a few moths later or so it breaks down. You’ll need to get a better SSD to fix your system if you want the performance and stability of the proper SSD will offer. I would go with either a OWC or Transcend SSD which is designed for your system.