Chosen Solution

Hi, I just replaced the battery with the iFixit Kit on my rMBP Mid 2012 (MacBook Pro 15" Retina Display Mid 2012 Battery Replacement). Cause was a “replace now” indicator in OSX. Replacement went without (obvious) problems but now the Mac isn’t starting anymore. When I connected the MagSafe adapter first it started with 100% fans until the login screen although the light on the MagSafe didn’t turn on. I shut it down and made a SMC reset. Since then the Mac stayed off. I already disconnected the battery and ran only on MagSafe but light won’t turn on. I also tried to disconnect all and press the Power Button for a minute and reconnected battery and MagSafe, but no progress either. Weird thing is: The fans start to run slowly when I connect the MagSafe. But Power Button shows no reaction. Any help highly appreciated! Update: Coconut screen attached:

Update2: Tried this Battery not detected, won’t charge; strange connector on logic board? and succeeded partially:

So battery is recognized and I can boot from it without charger. Yay! But still no charging with MagSafe plugged in. I plugged in an old 60W charger from an MB Unibody 2008, no success. But then removed the cable from my original Power Supply and plugged it directly into the wall…

That looks pretty good, doesn’t it? But since it is only charging with ~40W I guess my Power Supply could be replaced. Also the charging indicator on MagSafe doesn’t light up (always). So I guess I had a combination of unrecognized battery and a kind of (but not totally) broken Power Supply. Now charging up to 100% and let it drain over night. Best, Marc

Sounds like it could be a problem with the magsafe adapter or the port on the laptop, do u have a spare charger that you know works, is your charger an original one ? Also where did you buy your battery is it from the I fixit store, its unlikely but you may have another faulty battery.