Chosen Solution

Macbook Pro late 2011 model will not turn on after I added an additional SSD into the optical bay. It turns on if I unplug the new hard drive from the motherboard. I want to use the new drive as an additional hard drive with my old one while booting from the the old drive. Why won’t it turn on but everything works when I unplug it from the motherboard? Here is the SSD i put in there. Thanks. UPDATE: I placed my existing (the one I already had in my macbook) SSD drive into the HD caddy by itself and the macbook still would not boot. Could be problems with the optical caddy or the cable? Thinking about buying another drive bay, this one is sort of old and was laying in my basement for a while. Help! UPDATE: I tried the optical bay by itself and the same thing happens, assuming problem is with my optical caddy now, going to get a replacement. Not sure what model/brand but here’s a picture of the optical caddy I’m using:

I can find where the S55 is backward compatible to SATA II but not the S60. Try the new drive in the hard drive bay by itself. It makes no sense to boot from the old slow drive.

Depending on your exact system you may not be able to add the second SSD due to a issue within the system its self. For referewnce: OWC - Data Doubler review the notes at the bottom for your exact system. Sadly, neither of the SSD’s you have here will work if your system only supports a SATA II drive. The rub is the SSD you have, have auto sense technology in the SSD’s to set the SATA speed so it will try to latch in on SATA III but it can’t so it fails. You need a fixed SATA II drive not an auto setting unit. As to why your system isn’t booting up with the optical drive carrier you have now I suspect is because its bad. You’ll need to try to connect your SSD externally using an adapter like this: Startech 2.5" SATA to USB adapter Your only other option is to get a larger SSD for the HD bay replacing the drive you have there now.