Chosen Solution

Hi there! I have a late 2016 MacBook Pro that has probably been used in total 20-30 times. It had sat for somewhere around 6 months without being used/charged at all. Upon going to use it, it did not power on. Obviously, my first course of action was to put it on the charger. After giving it about an hour to charge, I came back to fire it up. Still dead. There was no sort of start-up noises coming from the computer, no fans kicking on, and no click on the trackpad. After leaving it on the charger overnight with no progress, I brought it to a local shop that fixes mainly Apple products. They replaced the battery with 2 different new ones. It was able to turn on after that, but only because they had charged the battery on an external charger before putting it in the computer. Once that battery lost its initial charge, the computer won’t power on anymore. I was able to have the computer running, as long as the power cord was plugged in (still running off of the initial external battery charge). The second I unplugged it, the computer shut off and I haven’t been able to start it since. This makes me believe that the problem is not the charging cord or any of the power outlets. They told me the computer could require a new motherboard, but that it would cost roughly $500 to order. I was hoping that somebody else had an idea of what it could be before I went and dropped that kind of money on a fairly new (and hardly used) computer. Thank you for all of you help in advance! John

If your system is running now lets do an SMC reset How to reset the SMC in a MacBook (and why you might want to). This guide covers both the older and newer MacBook Pro systems. See if that helps.