Chosen Solution

Hi folks The internal screen of my Macbook Pro 16’ 2019 A2141 suddenly did not display any graphics or text. This Macbook Pro is running an AMD Radeon Pro 5500M 8GB. The backlight is OK and I can modify the backlight intensity through the Touch Bar (which also works perfectly) Resetting NVRAM & SMC did not change anything (except the chimes is now louder…) If I connect an external HDMI monitor through a Thunderbolt 3 adapter: no picture at all on the external screen which enters into sleep mode. When I connect my Mac (lid closed) to my Calldigit TS3 (thunderbolt 3) docking station attached to an external screen (through Display port): The mac is displaying macOS’ desktop perfectly on the external monitor. If I open the Macbook Pro lid, MacOS BigSur detects it and the external monitor is automatically configured as my extended screen. (but the internal screen still displays nothing) I also checked if I was not concerned by Flexgate. Even with a light/torch, I don’t see any text/graphics on the internal screen of the mac when I slowly open it (unattached from the docking station and external screen). I am repairing musical instruments (analog & digital synthesizers & mixing consoles…) I have basic knowledge of SMD micro welding. I own the A2141 system board schematic. What should I check now to move forward in my troubleshooting, please? With my preliminary testing, I don’t consider the GPU defective: Am I wrong? FYI: After this issue appeared I disabled Dynamic GPU switching. I’ve installed gSwitch app to set/force the use of the discrete graphic adapter. This Macbook Pro has only been used at home, lid closed, on a ventilated shelf, and attached to my external display. Never been transported. I also clean the Mac with Wet & Dry wipe. (screen, keyboard and touchpad) Thanks to the community for any tips & tricks or assistance.

Well not good 😡 The internal displays T-CON board has failed. Sadly this not uncommon as the heatsink is so close to it it often cooks when running heavy graphics and/or the vents and fan are choked up with dust. So here’s the needed part MacBook Pro 16" (2019) Display Assembly and the guide to put it in MacBook Pro 16" 2019 Screen Replacement Make sure you clean out the dust buildup in the fans and the heatsink fins as well as the logic board using a soft paint brush an a can of can’d air using short blasts. I would strongly recommend getting a good thermal monitoring app like TG Pro I find it’s one of best it also can boost the fans when it’s getting too warm as well.