Chosen Solution

Edit: I believe I was on Catala 10.15.3

My issue is that the laptop will not turn on, the screen stays black, I don’t even see the Apple logo. It was working a few hours ago, I shut it down, then less than an hour later went to turn it on and it did not turn on. Both times it was not connected to any external accessories, although on most days I do use the Vava VA-UC006 USB-C Hub for both an external display and charging. What happens: No FanCaps lock button does not light up when pressedScreen stays offI DO hear the chime when I connect it to power.Power button seems to work (kind of). If I connect my phone to it, it’ll charge/stop charging when I hold the power button down and turn it on/off but nothing otherwise. Steps taken so far: Attempted both SMC & NVRAM Reset by both myself and appleApple Genius Bar opened it up, disconnected the battery and reconnected it I’m still under warranty, and Apple has ‘repaired’ it twice for this same exact issue. The first time they replaced the logic board, the second time they replaced everything but the screen. I would love ideas as to: a - how to fix it and/or b - what kind of things I might be doing that could lead to this kind of issue.

It’s best not to use your hub for power at all! There is still a sizable difference between a USB-C hub and a Thunderbolt 3 hub! Apple didn’t do us any favors offering Thunderbolt using the same connector as USB-C. Treat your hub as a multi-port dongle and use your other Thunderbolt port on your system for supporting your Apple power adapter using the original Apple cable it came with. To add to the confusion there are different USB-C cables! None are marked clearly! Some USB-C cables don’t offer the thicker wires for power, others don’t even offer them or may not connect to all of the pins needed. Thunderbolt cables while they look the same are still different! USB-C was supposed to be a universal connector — but it still has a lot of problemsAre all USB-C cables the same? That is if they are marked! Many cheap ones aren’tUSB Type-C: Not All Cables Are Created Equal