Chosen Solution

Hello! My trustie old Macbook air stopped working from one moment to another. let me sketch you the story. It’s been a happy fellow for the better part of 5 years, traveling with me and having excellent battery life, no problems whatsoever. This week, I had to spend a night in a tent, my macair was in the car in a laptop bag closed with a zipper. Outside temperature went from 25 daytime to 10ish nighttime (this is important because it’s honestly the only “odd” circumstance I can imagine). Note that I did use it this afternoon. Soo the next day sometime in the afternoon (25celcius again) I wanted to check my emails and booted my friend. Powercable plugged like I always had. All went fine, but when I opened my second email (2/3min post boot) the screen went black and the thing powered down without warning, without any weird sound. Ever since, I’ve managed to get it to switch on twice, but shut down during startup in the same manner. This has all been 4 days now, and as far as I can google that rules out the odd low temperature battery problem. I guess the only other thing possible is hardware failure during to condensation/liquid caught that one night in the car. Technical support costs me 85 euros for just taking it in. I’ve changed fans and hdds in laptops before so I am fine performing basic surgery on it, I’d just need to order the correct screwdrivers (or use the elastic trick perhaps). Before we get to high costs or opening up the thing though, I’d like to learn as much as possible. Hopefully any of you guys has more information for me, or input, ideas, etcetera. I kinda can’t afford expensive repairs right now but I need a laptop… Further information I have is that SMC reset appears to work (charger light goes orange-green-orange) and despite having been on the charger for well over 6 hours in total the light is still orange. The laptop is in near pristine condition otherwise, I’ve always been very careful with it. The screen is not faulty, e.g. capslock light doesn’t turn on, no sound etc. Other ‘resets’ and button magic don’t seem to have any effect. My best guess would be that cold or water &&^&@@ the battery. If it’s not that, I’m afraid I’ll need to get it into apple repair which’ll cost a bunch of money I don’t really have. I hope you guys can help me out! Cheerss! (battery non removable)

Of course we are usually doing something on our computers when they fail, “causal relationship”. Generally there is not a relationship between what we were doing and the failure. But in cases where you are doing an update or in the email, other things can get in. Try starting in Safe Mode by holding down the shift key during startup. If it clears the issue, I would suspect an infection has hit you. UPDATE Open it up and see if you have corrosion on the logic board (usually green or white gunk. All you need is a P5 Pentalobe driver, but first tell us where in the world you are. This one is from the European store: https://eustore.ifixit.com/en/Tools/Driv… MacBook Air 13" Mid 2013 Lower Case Replacement