Chosen Solution

I know this question has been asked and answered a lot because i have seen the answers while trying to solve this however none of the solutions have worked. My mac thinks head phones are plugged in when they are not. Most pages i have looked at have mentioned a red light being on in the headphone jack however mine does not display such red light. I also noticed that upon restarting my mac the startup sound comes from the build in speakers but that is the only sound that i can get to come through. I have tried plugging in my headphones along with other things and that has not helped. any new advice would be greatly appreciated.

Does the sound come through the headphone jack without any problems? Most people with the “red light” issue have S/PDIF unnecessarily activated, which is not the case here. It is therefore very unlikely that any sort of dust or debris is at fault. The most likely issue is that the internal speakers are broken, or there is an issue with the motherboard. I’m not sure if this applies A1425 and A1502 models, but if you have an A1278 model, the startup tone comes through the internal subwoofer, which is separate from the left and right internal speakers, so the fact that it makes a startup tone doesn’t rule out issues with the internal speakers.