Chosen Solution

Hi, I have a 2006 Mac Pro, 3ghz Model, and I used it as a file server without a graphics Card. When I turned it on today - as soon as I pressed the button - I heard a poof (even felt it a little), and the Mac was done… I opened it up and took a few sniffs, but the mainboard didn‘t seem to smell fried, neither the power supply. The guy who gave me the Mac also gave me a spare Mainboard with it - the one that got replaced - and so I think that maybe somethings wrong with the power supply. It maybe likes to give out too much, so the mainboards get cooked - but I can’t even say if the spare mainboard is fried - just an assumption. What do you think, what exactly poofed at that moment and killed the device? Thank you everyone for your help!

The main thing I’ve seen fail on this model has been the power supply. Are you getting any diagnostic lights? If not replace the PSU. here’s how: Mac Pro First Generation Power Supply Unit Replacement