Chosen Solution

I have a M1 Macbook, it had no damages and everything was fine yesterday evening. No trauma or liquid damage afaik as it was just on the desk. Then suddenly it started going black, first it was every minute or so, in that point closing the display and opening it fixed it. Then it started turning off every 30 seconds, same thing closing display and opening again fixed it. At this point, connecting to an external monitor worked fine. So on the external monitor I could use it like regular (with mirrored or extended screen). Then I restarted, tried a bunch of things on the https://support.apple.com/en-ca/HT210905 and https://www.macbookproslow.com/fix-black....I never got into safe mode or knew if things were working, but I tried all the keyboard combinations. Late into the night, it started working and then I used the Macbook regularly, I went to sleep happy that it was fixed. Now I woke up and the screen is not working at all, not even showing the apple logo which it was last night. Also, it’s not working on external monitor either. I can still see the external monitor and the mouse but it’s a black background. The backlight is working and the keys and everything seem fine. Very frustrating and I’m not sure what to do :(

Ouch! Not good ;-{ This sounds like the logic board its self has an issue. Either the backlight power which lights up the screen or the graphics services of the M1 SoC. When you try to turn it on do you see any light glow from the screen (try this is a dark room) Sometimes you can see the screen with change in color slightly grey to black. If you don’t then the backlight power logic is a likely suspect. See if placing a lit flashlight ageists the screen as an angle if you see the faint outline of the desktop icons, if not, then the graphics has a problem. In either case your system might be covered under warranty. I would visit an Apple Store to see what they say.

I replaced the screen, 1st with an amazon screen then Oem apple screen by reputable repair shop. After replacement, they said screen was black/, off to apple tomorrow for diagnosis. Nothing happenned to this laptop.i am puzzled. Zthe keys backlight works, nothing else