Chosen Solution

Alright guys, so I am working on an iPhone SE. It got a little wet, wet enough to the point of when they brought me it, the screen would not work. The rest of the phone you could tell worked (they had the phone turned on!!). So I cleaned the logic board up, took the shields off of course and then reassembled with a new screen and only half of the screen worked. One side of the screen would work fine, the other side had lines going through it and it was a little black. So I got another screen and tried again with the same results. I posted to here about it and they told me I might have gotten a bad batch. So I ordered a more expensive screen that was a lot better and now when I plug ANY screen into it, it stays as a black screen but all of the chips are getting hot. I am assuming I have a bad back light filter or diode. The only problem is, I can’t find anything on this phone. I want to find the back light components, but there isn’t much online showing me where to find them. Any one have any advice on where to find them or what could even be the problem? I am pretty sure about this because I do it every time I test a screen but I will ask anyway! I do not have the metal plate on the back of the screen on, I am only plugging in the screen itself so the digitizer and LCD, and also the home button to see if I could do HOME + Power, but ended up with the same results. Does the board have to be mounted to the enclosure for it to work? Because I put the board in the enclosure but I do not screw anything down, I just connect the cables to their connectors so I can test. And like I said, the board is getting hot, and when I plug a charger into it, it gets very hot. Any help will be much appreciated!

Update (01/05/2017) @gigabit87898 I don’t think this is underfill, this looks differently. The white stuff could be corrosion but I can’t get it off! I took a picture of both using my cell phone and the microscope, its not the best picture but does show you what I am talking about. Did you find anything out from the other pictures I sent? Here is the up close microscope shots of them http://imgur.com/gallery/9xBcG. Do you have any suggestion on how to better clean a board? +

Did you clean the board? Clean it with isopropyl alcohol, and see which chips are getting hot. Please provide a picture so we can see which components are burnt.

@jetlabbelectro

the component in question here is reference designator C3418_RF which is a 2.2UF 4V x5R ceramic capacitor in a 0201 package. It is part of your Baseband circuitry. Best way of cleaning your board would be with an ultrasonic bath. If you do not have it available follow the direction given above. @gigabit87898 sure you do….;-) check your email.

wow, how much have you blown on this repair already ?? btw i had a similar issue while repairing my old iphone 5 (replacing battery and ribbon cable for volume) there were lines / strings vertical which dissapeared after screwing in the board and pressing it a bit. don’t ask me why. was afraid i’ve blown the screen but the problem went away. it happened to me actually twice, with the lines on the screen