Chosen Solution

I have an LG 50NANO79SNA tv. It worked just fine until I allowed it to apply the latest WebOS update… I remembered that these took a while, so I started the procedure then went to bed. When I checked on it in the morning I had no picture but had sound, and the TV did not respond to the remote to power it back off again. I unplugged it, plugged it back in and now have no picture at all. When I turn it on now the backlight comes on, and the power light flashes three times. It can be turned on either using the physical power button or the remote but can only be turned off with the remote. Ive replaced the power supply… no change. I also tried swapping in an identical main board out of a different model of TV… upon plugging it in it powered up the backlight but did not respond to the remote. Unsure whether the main board is dead or has simply bricked itself through the firmware update process. Is there a way to manually reload the firmware on this thing?

I had similar problem years ago after an update. What saved me was I knew someone else with the same TV so I learned the remote functions on their TV so I could re-install the update on mine. I also had to use wired instead of wireless.