Chosen Solution

I have a JVC LED TV model LT-50CA890a. My problem is the screen is permanently black and has vertical coloured lines. This problem occurred yesterday while the TV was in use. I purchased the TV 2 years ago, unfortunately the warranty has expired. I’m not experienced in repairing devices so I come seeking advice hoping that I can avoid replacing a TV that can be fixed. After researching I tried taking the back off the tv and reseated the ribbon cables but no success. I tried having 1 ribbon cable plugged in at a time on the TCON board for either side of the screen to gather more info. With only the left ribbon cable plugged in, the left side of the screen worked perfectly. The left side of the screen was black and displayed No Signal text as expected. Right side was white. No vertical lines. With only the right ribbon cable plugged in, the left half of screen was white, right side was black. No lines The backlights are working when the TV is powered on. I’m not sure where to go from here and would appreciate some advice. Will replacing the TCON board help?

@jgils that looks more like a bad panel then a T-con board. You got both horizontal and vertical stripes in there and it looks confined to the middle 3rd of the panel. If you can get some boards cheaply, try a mainboard or even a T-con, (but only if they are inexpensive and/or easy money-back policy.)