Chosen Solution

I bought a French door, bottom freezer one year ago. I had the tech out here last week and he opened the doors, looked at the gaskets and said everything was fine. I told him it didn’t seem as cold but told me by the morning everything should be fine because the doors were open from me cleaning it. I’m a diabetic so this is extremely important to me to make sure it is cooling properly for my insulin. The next morning I opened the doors and it didn’t seem cold at all. Water was all over the floor from all the ice cubes melting. I opened the freezer and the pints of gelato I just bought were like soup. I was so upset. Called the warranty company right away after quickly trying to save my new foods. They sent the same technician back and he changed the compressor. It dropped to 40 degrees but the water is still room temperature and no ice is being made. How long does it take to begin working?

I made this a separate question because it was tagged onto a question about a frog that had gone through a hurricane and your issues looked different. Please give us the make and model number and a history of the machine. First if it is still under warranty, either get them to fix it or take it back if they won’t honor the warranty. Let’s address the leaking water first: Cause 1 Clogged or Freezing Defrost Drain If the defrost drain is frozen, the water will overflow the drain trough and drip down to the bottom of the compartment. This water can eventually leak onto the floor. Check the defrost drain to determine if it is clogged or frozen. If the defrost drain is frozen, thaw the ice. In addition, flush the drain with hot water to ensure that it is clear of debris. Cause 2 Water Tank Assembly Inspect the water tank assembly for any leaks. Be aware that the leak may be very small and hard to find. If you discover a leak, replace the water tank. Do not attempt to repair the water tank—glue will not stick properly to the plastic of the tank. Cause 3 Water Inlet Valve The water inlet valve opens to supply water to the dispenser and icemaker. If the water inlet valve is cracked or has a loose fitting, water will leak from the valve. Inspect the water inlet valve for cracks, and make sure that it is tightly secured to the water supply line.