Chosen Solution

Laptop turns on, I can hear the fan turn on for a few seconds then stops, then turns back on for a few seconds and back off. It repeats this until I hold the power button in to turn it back off. Nothing displays on the screen. I have pulled the battery held the power button in, reseated the memory card. But this did nothing. Any ideas on what could be going on?

Hi @b23norris , At least it doesn’t keep turning on and off with the RAM removed so a small step forward. ;-) Check if the CMOS battery is OK and is not depleted. (sorry for the poor quality video but only one I could find during a quick search). If it tests OK, just removing/replacing it may help as this should reset the BIOS back to its’ default state, in case there are any corrupted settings interfering with POST. I realize that you said that you removed the battery but I thought you meant the main battery when perhaps you actually meant the CMOS battery. I’ve had strange things happen when trying to start PCs because the CMOS battery was dead. Worth a shot anyway