Chosen Solution

When I engage my Blades/PTO on my LA105 John Deere mower the engine begins to lose power and knocks terribly. The RMPs drop to almost nothing but it keeps running most of the time. It is not electrical. I cleaned out the deck for binding. It’s almost like the engine is losing compression. I have replaced air and fuel filter, changed the oil, cleaned the Carb and replaced the fuel pump. Any ideas?

I would check the compression and find if it is in specs or not.

Here’s something easy you can try - it may not fix your mower, but if it does, you’re good to go. Get some new gas, and mix in some Seafoam gas treatment.Drain your lawn mower’s gas tank, and fill it with the new gas / Seafoam mix.Crank your engine. If the fuel system is clogged up, the Seafoam will clean it up; your mower will run like new. https://seafoamsales.com/small-engines/

The blades wont engage due to PTO issue. Safety switches either from the seat, brakes or PTO switch or clutch has gone bad.